My Couch to 5k Journey

I haven’t made any formal announcement anywhere, but the first week of March I was laid off from my job. While I’m deciding which is the best path to take from here I needed a reason to get out of the house and not be a total hermit. I figured there was no better time to start couch to 5k since there is basically nothing else to work around in my schedule.

I’ve never been a runner. I loathed gym class all through school. I’ve gotten into the habit of walking for exercise–outdoors or at the gym–a few times over the years, but I never had the courage to start running. Last week, I thought about it and realized I was the only one standing in my way. I needed to do this for myself, and to throw aside what anyone else thought.

I already had workout clothes from the gym habit I fell out of last year, so I downloaded a training app to my phone and some music to motivate me and just went out there.

The route I picked the first day was the wrong one. The hill wasn’t too bad going down in the beginning, but it was killer coming back up. My legs were sore for days. I almost didn’t continue. I fought off the idea of quitting and (after 3 days of giving my legs a rest) picked back up with day 2. I took a different route and that jog/walk went much better. Day 3 I almost jogged all 8 sections.

I contemplated repeating week 1, but figured it was better for each day to be just a little out of reach so I can keep striving to get stronger. Tuesday (22nd) I did week 2 day 1. I wasn’t quite able to jog all 6 parts, but I did so much more than I ever would have thought before I started the program. It feels so good to be making progress with something that is good for me.

Those who follow me on Instagram have seen my post-jog/walk check-ins. What I haven’t shared before now is my progress tracker that I have in my bullet journal. This is what I teased in my last post. Since my Fitbit is tracking in miles, I’ve marked my tracker off in miles. I’ve put the tracker in to be a reminder of how I’m doing–that I am moving forward.

wp-1458779585751.jpg

 

At the beginning of the year, I had no clear fitness plan for myself. Is anyone else starting a new fitness routine now? Let me know in the comments!

Don’t forget to follow the blog, and find me on Twitter and Instagram for more content–and my post-c25k pics! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Couch to 5k Journey

  1. I often think that’s the best way to start, not on some magical date like the first of January, not when I’ve got new equipment. Just do it. You’re doing really well, you’ll be amazed by how quickly that line goes up. Sorry to hear about your job, do you think you’ll go back to a similar role or do you fancy a complete change?

    Like

Leave a Reply

